Firing up db2 9.5 on Ubuntu Hardy Heron

I work on IBM DB2 at office. So, I was curious to set it up at home in my new lappy. It was fun and I did it successfully.

I found it quite difficult to set it up though, but after a few hick-ups I was able to make it. Even though I ran the command line setup, the engine never started when I gave the db2start statement. After a lot of googling I found a solution ironically on a Russian website. šŸ™‚

De-package

sudo dpkg -i db2exc_9.5.0-1gutsy1_i386.deb
Set the annoying environment variable

sudo echo “kernel.shmmax=1610612736” >>Ā  /etc/sysctl.conf

Run the Set-up

/home/Prabhu/exp $ . ./db2_install

Start the Engine

db2start

Create the SAMPLE database

db2sampl

Refresh

db2stop

db2start

Connect and Enjoy

db2 connect to sample

Leave a comment